Letter to my step-children

A letter to my (step) children, delightful motherhood (1)

We met quickly, and began living with one another even faster. I know that me being in my early twenties and you both being in the area of 10ish made things hard. The rounds we have had over the past two years of knowing one another, especially with me being your new mom quickly in place of your birth mother.

It may or may not have been ideal to you at the time; however, me and your father wanted to give you a great life that your mother is unable to right now. Coming from a background of family troubles and lots of emotional roller coasters, I completely understood and wanted nothing more than to be there for you. In fact, being my relationship with my step mother was always a crash course I wanted to be different. With that being said, I didn’t mean we wouldn’t argue or we would always see eye-to-eye. What I mean is, I want no grudges to be between us.

We are and were more alike than different. Life happens fast, with no regard for feelings. Even though me and your father just brought a child into the world, and that was a big job too. We hold a place for you, that this is home. I was that step child that didn’t want any part of my mom being replaced or just plain out told my step parent to leave.

With your dad being in the army, fighting the war over the course of nine years almost. He never forgot about you, it seems many feel that way. He always called, always made an effort. However, your caretaker at the time didn’t make it very easy for him to. With this already being a hard pill to swallow, I don’t enjoy or wish to put down either parent. All we can do is provide now, and show our care now.

I’m sorry you had to go years without your dad and years of an unstable situation, we want you to know that the minute we found out we made every effort to expedite the process and get you here.

Your safety was and always will be our priority. When you get older, I  hope you get a moment to look back or even find this post and know that there was no question how much me and your father cared for you.

2 thoughts on “Letter to my step-children

Leave a comment